WELCOME!  Explore our Green Your Routine website and share your feedback and your own green success stories. We hope you will visit often and tell your neighbors. Please note that some of our features are still under construction. We appreciate your patience while we load more content about sustainable Fort Lauderdale.

Flood Zone Designations & Flood Maps

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

A majority of the City of Fort Lauderdale’s residents live in or close to a Special Flood Hazard Area (SFHA), where flooding may occur. This means property is in or near the SFHA, as mapped by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), and is prone to flooding. To determine your flood zone, refer to the FEMA flood zone map, also known as a Flood Insurance Rate Map (FIRM), available online or by calling (954) 828-5281.

Flood maps are used to determine:

  • flood risk to properties
  • flood insurance purchase requirements
  • flood insurance rates
  • minimum finished-floor elevations for new construction and substantial improvements to existing structures

The maps benefit various groups of people in different ways:

  • Community planners and local officials gain an understanding of the flood hazards and risks that affect our region and incorporate this knowledge to local planning activities.
  • Builders and developers have access to detailed information for making decisions on where to build and how construction can affect local flood hazard areas.
  • Insurance agents, insurance companies, and lending institutions have easy on-line access to data they can use to serve their customers and community more efficiently.
  • Home and business owners have the ability to make better financial decisions about protecting their properties.

The maps are updated by FEMA periodically, with the latest review completed in 2013 and adopted in August 2014.

Broward FEMA Flood Map

Check to see if your property requires flood insurance under the new FEMA maps. Click here on on the map above.

By always adopting the latest flood maps, Broward County and the City of Fort Lauderdale are assured that FEMA will offer assistance during emergencies and provide flood insurance coverage for county residents. The low- and moderate-risk zones are represented on the maps by the letter “X”, "0.2 PCT" or an “X” that is shaded. The inland high-risk zones will be labeled with designations such as “A”, “AE” or “AH”, and coastal high-risk zones that have additional risk from storm surge will be labeled “VE”. The following flood zone designation determines whether or not flood insurance is mandatory.

Zone A
Flood insurance rate zone determined by approximate methods, as no Base Flood Elevations (BFEs) are available for these areas. Mandatory flood insurance purchase requirements apply.

Zone AE
Flood insurance rate zone that corresponds with flood depths greater than 3 feet. Mandatory flood insurance purchase requirements apply.

Zone AH
Flood insurance rate zone that corresponds to areas of shallow flooding with average depths between 1 and 3 feet. Mandatory flood insurance purchase requirements apply.

Zone VE
Flood insurance rate zone that corresponds to coastal areas that have additional hazards associated with storm waves. Mandatory flood insurance requirements apply.

Zone X-Shaded and Zone 0.2 PCT Annual
Flood insurance rate zones that are outside the flood plain or the average flood depths of less than 1 foot. Flood insurance purchase is not mandatory.

View Full Site